Engage…

…  boldly going where many have blogged before.10616190_10204449151732023_9016572569799954737_n

I enjoyed blogging when I was teaching in India, and I miss it.  I miss the reflection and authentic audience that came with the process of writing.  It is too easy as a classroom teacher, to say “I do not have time to blog” while we curse our students for not being more reflective of their own work.  I have done that myself for years but have resolved to pause, breathe, and take time to look back on what it is I am doing and how I am doing it.

Stay on Focus

415XbOPdPEL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_As I read Focus by Mike Schmoker, I am reminded of how effective just three elements can be on student learning:

Three simple things: reasonably coherent curriculum (what we teach); sound lessons (how we teach); and more purposeful reading and writing in every discipline, or authentic literacy (integral to both what and how we teach).

It is absolutely necessary that we all stay focused on the three essentials without getting distracted by “new” ideas from others.  Keep it simple and do not get off the path…  It is difficult to sustain that momentum and not get distracted by the “new and shiny” but it is essential to get results.

My hope is that this blog will help me keep my focus.  My plan it to blog about once every month or two.  I want to share specific, classroom teaching practices that I feel are effective (or ineffective).  I want this to be me processing my own teaching as well as sharing with others what I do, why I do it, how I do it, and how effective it is at helping my students learn.  I feel this should be the focus of every teacher.

Leave a Reply

